Thoughts on the rapid stream of information from social media

I’ve been thinking a lot about how much time I spend on my computer browsing without a specific intention in mind.  My favorite website to browse are Facebook, Techcrunch, and Venturebeat. Through Techcrunch and Venturebeat I am able to read about all the newest startups, technology, and really cool innovations. This often leads to browsing crowdfunding sites like Kickstarter and Indiegogo where people post projects they believe will push the envelope, change the world, and chase their dreams. There are so many unique and interesting projects on these sites, even watching the project’s 2-minute videos can spark my own ideas. Reading about these new products, services, inventions, and innovations is one reason I am so excited when I wake up every morning. The world is changing so fast and it is truly amazing to see new ideas that within months can gain millions of customers and change the way we live on a daily basis.

Facebook also is a great outlet for me to read articles and watch videos that really brighten up my day. I often stumble upon great Ted Talks, interesting articles, funny videos, and great causes to support on Facebook. When I scan through my newsfeed I tend to focus less on friends pictures, status updates, and opinions on various issues, but rather the content they share. I’ve tried Reddit and other website, but no other site compares to the quality of interesting articles and hilarious videos I find through Facebook. 

Many people say browsing Facebook is a big waste of time, but personally, I find a lot of joy and happiness through what I discover as a direct result of social media browsing.

Leave a Reply

